SPORT Commonwealth Games

No icon

Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport event which is started in Canada in 1930. On that time 400 athletes included from 11 countries. After that, the game takes place every four years (except 1942-1946 due to World War II). The Commonwealth Games are known as also British Empire Games (1930-1950) or British Empire and Commonwealth Games (1954-1966). There are four Home Nations of the United Kingdom which are England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

The main motive behind this Game is to improve social culture relationship and human rights and promotion of democracy.

There are 53 members of the Commonwealth Games and included 71 teams participate in it with their own flags. There many rituals and traditions in Commonwealth Games. It is the opening and closing ceremony is Queen’s Baton Relay which is held in Cardiff since 1958. It shows the festival of sports and culture to the gathering of people across the Commonwealth. There are more than 15 different sports and more than 250 events organized by Commonwealth Games.

There are Nine Nations hosted the events of Commonwealth Games. Australia is the only country who has been hosted this event four times (in 1938, 1962, 1982, and 2006) and again Australia is going to host this event 2018. Canada is the second country who has been hosted this event four times (in 1930, 1954, 1978, 1994) and Auckland (in 1950,1990), Edinburgh (in 1970, 1986) cities have hosted Commonwealth Games more than one time.

In Commonwealth Games there more than 15 different sports which are Wrestling, Weightlifting, Volleyball, Triathlon, Table Tennis, Swimming, Squash, Shooting, Netball, Hockey, Diving, Judo, Gymnastics, Boxing, Cycling, Athletics, Basketball, and Badminton. There are 6 teams who have attended every Commonwealth games- Australia, England, Canada, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales.

The performance of India’s in the games was outstanding and it created remarkable in the history of Indian Games. India hosted CWG in 2010 and won 101 medals, 38 Gold’s, 27 Silvers and 36 bronze.